Collective Conscience

Leave a comment

This is a non- WoW related post. It is of a rather serious nature, about an issue in the real world. 

On a routine conversation on the phone with my parents today, I learned of a gruesome attack that has the Indian public in outcry. Long after the phone call ended, I still found myself disturbed by the story.

In December 2012, a young woman was attacked in Delhi on a bus. She was gang-raped by a group of males in the most brutal of ways – I shuddered when I heard that an iron rod had been used – and brutally thrown out of the bus when they were done with her, presumably left to bleed to death. She died in a hospital two weeks later. Nine months later, after arrests and a prosecution, the judge handed down a harsh verdict for  brutal rape and murder – death.

I want to say on the outset that this post is not about discussing the verdict or the merits/demerits of the death penalty.

India is not a terribly safe country. Laws are not well-enforced and there are many crimes, particularly against women, that go unpunished.  I remember being ordered to come home by sundown, by never wearing shorts outside the house lest I attract leery unsavoury men, and by avoiding parties throughout high school – specifically for this reason. Safety.

This particular crime however, seemed to horrify the ‘collective conscience’ of people in much the same way that it shocked me. The outcry was deafening, and people gathered to show their solidarity against the brutality of crimes against women.

There is anger and outrage, some of which I feel myself even though I am no longer anywhere near it. And the issue of violence against women is at the forefront of it. Change seems to be in the air for a country that is long known to have rampant sexism in its very culture. For the big picture, yes it seems to be a small silver-lining to this tragedy.

But I have to admit that I am least concerned with the big picture. I find myself entirely disinterested in theories of the future of India, what the feminists have to say, or the legal nuances of the case. Why? Because I simply cannot get past what happened to the victim. 

It deeply saddens me to think that a crime of this magnitude and brutality needed to be committed for people to stand up and speak out against it. I cannot begin to imagine what the young woman went through – no one can ever deserve to experience it.

My entire day was spent feeling decidedly foolish as I tried to continued writing drafts of boss fights, or played piano.

I am glad that people are standing up and speaking out. I am glad that they are willing to hold a mirror to the culture in India and take a good look. But I still cannot push away my sadness when I think of what led to this path.

Will the madness ever stop?

Leave a Reply

