Mercurial Vestments with a Twist

4 Comments

I just happen to put this one together today on a whim – mostly from wanting a change from all the pinkess of Alanna’s Embrace.

I’ve always been a huge huge fan of the priest tier set at the beginning of Cataclysm. It has such pretty colours, lots of detail and and just plain looks cool. There were two parts of it that took away from the coolness of it though: i) the enormous bird-feeder type shoulders and ii) the gigantic WWE-type belts of that tier that went along with it. Taller classes can pull these off a bit better –  but on a gnome, it just looks like a disaster.

gnome-mercurial

See what I mean?

So there I was wondering what I could use in place of those two. I dug into my bank and found great options for both slots. I like how both the shoulders and the chest have matching gold detail going on, and the length of the shoulders gives a different look – as though wearing honours rather than a mantle. On a gnome it’s particularly cute as they touch the ground when she runs. 🙂

The best part about this set is that you do not have to be a priest to be able to wear it. There are look-alike equivalents that easily get around the tier portion of this outfit.

Lilfront-mercurial Lilback-mercurial

Where to get this set:

Chest: Mercurial Robes (Priest-only, 2200 Justice Points) or Robes of the Burning Acolyte (Halfus Wyrmbreaker, Bastion of Twilight)

Shoulders: Lightning-Infused Mantle (Quest reward from “Diametrically Opposed“)

Waist: Ruthless Gladiator’s Cord of Accuracy (Honour Points)

Feet: Slippers of Moving Waters ( BoE, 1650 Justice Points)

Hands: Mercurial Gloves ( Priest-only, 1650 Justice Points),  Brackish Gloves (Chimaeron, Blackwing Descent)

Cute-lil

And…..tadaaa!

4 thoughts on “Mercurial Vestments with a Twist

  1. Ooooh, that combination looks *fantastic*!
    I am definitely going to have to borrow this idea someday! I really like the Mercurial Robes and am intending to get them for my Priest (when she gets leveled high enough). I don’t particularly want to use the set shoulders, either, but I hadn’t quite figured out what else to use yet — and the Lightning-Infused Mantle is already on my “to-get” list.

    • Thanks! Another cool option for the shoulders is the Valorous ones from Naxx 25. The green goes particularly well with the robes and they’re not nearly as oversized as the original tier 11 shoulders.

      I don’t have them yet so I couldn’t really compare them against the Lightning-Infused Mantle. But they’re on my list! 🙂

  2. This set looks great. I have a real issue with shoulders and quite often won’t wear the ones from the set that are meant to go with it as they are too big in my opinion. I’ve got this set but have been turned off mostly by the shoulders, I like what you’ve done here 🙂

Leave a Reply

