Healing in a Shattered World: Patch 4.0.3a

Leave a comment

Every so often, I get a heal craving. It’s much like a chocolate craving – you feel like eating that moist gooey chocolate cake much in the same way you feel like throwing out some yummy heals. I had one of these heal cravings in the past week, but funny thing was instead of leaving me fat and happy at the end of it, I was left scratching my head over my heals. Was it just me or did Nourish not seem that awesome? Was it just me or did I actually see my mana bar move when I cast Rejuvenation? Should I have used *shudder* Healing Touch there instead?

And so I grabbed my chocolate cupcake, and settled down to take a good look at what our heal spells look like in the best way I know – reread those tooltips! Grab a cupcake and join me =)

I might be stating the obvious here in listing the spells, but it was helpful for me to just take a step back and re-evaluate the restoration healing arsenal. A lot of our spells look the same and sound the same but work very differently in their duration, mana costs and amount healed. They’re essentially new friends. I’ll be referring to the druid changes in Patch 4.0.3a – here’s a link to the druid changes to keep handy.

Heal-over-time Spells:

Rejuvenation: In Patch 4.0.3a, its mana cost was increased by 30%. The spell now costs 26% of base mana making it a pretty expensive spell to use. At level 80, the mana cost is in the 1k neighbourhood.

Lifebloom: One of our cheaper spells that costs only 7% of base mana. The catch is that we’re only allowed to put this on a single target at a time…unless we’re in tree form. Its our staple heal on the tank and a powerful raid healer when we unleash the tree.

 Wild Growth: Costs a whopping 27% of base mana – even more than Rejuvenation. It is, however, a smart heal and really our one powerful AoE heal spell. Use it wisely and well.

Cast-time Heal Spells:

Healing Touch: I’ve begun to take a second look at this spell, despite writing it off during Patch 4.0. This used to be the famous healing spell druids rarely ever used, and now at a cost of 30% base mana with a base 3 sec long cast still doesn’t look appealing. But, it still heals like a truck compared to the newly refashioned Nourish.

Nourish: Not really sure what to do about this one. Nourish costs a lovely 10% of base mana, but it now has a cast time equivalent to that of Healing Touch and heals for a significantly lower amount. However, it has the perk of refreshing Lifebloom if talented into. I can only see this being good for topping people off but its long cast time is rather deterring.

Regrowth: If you thought the rest of the spells were expensive, well this one takes the cake. It costs 35% of your base mana…and yet it delivers. Its quick, it heals and if you’re not careful it’ll kill your mana before you know it.

Other Spells:

Swiftmend: My best friend – made more powerful when glyphed. This guy costs a humble 10% of base mana and brings people up in a flash – faster than Regrowth.

Efflorescence: The circle of green goodness that procs from Swiftmend. Its healing is dimished when over 6 people stand in the circle but its still a great effect in that we can AoE heal by targetting a particular area.

 Tranquility: I admit I put this in purely for the sake of being thorough. This costs 32% of base mana and remains our “oh crap” spell.

The Message:

  • It’s loud and clear to me. No more blanket healing. With the mana costs of Rejuvenation and Wild Growth, its really not an option to just HoT everyone up preemptively. This is not a bad thing – it just means that as a druid I need to get to know my heals more intimately. Know how much they cost, know how much they heal for – assess the damage incoming and make your decision on what to put out there.
  • Since infinite mana is definitely out of the game, it’s more important to heal selectively and to put a cap on overhealing as much as possible. This is more than just knowing your how much spells cost – it also requires you to know where you’re healing who for how much. Yes that was an awkward sentence, but it gets my point across hopefully. =P 
  • Nourish versus Healing Touch is still up in the air. In Patch 4.0.3a, mechanics were changed to allow Healing Touch to refresh Lifebloom on the target as well. Nourish doesn’t have much going for it at the moment apart from its low mana cost. This is one of those places where I would keep both spells handy and then decide on the situation. Would a Nourish cut it or should I go Healing Touch? And do I have the mana for it? Its one of the many things that make healing interesting in this new world – no more easy answers. It now requires evaluating and consciously deciding one over the other. 
  • Keeping tracks of procs such as Omen of Clarity and Nature’s Grace are also important. I use the Omen of Clarity proc to mean a free Regrowth mostly. Timing specific mana-heavy heals with such procs adds up in keeping yourself from going oom. Nature’s Grace is a great proc to keep track of when someone is going down fast. The increased haste after casting regrowth immediately translates to a faster Healing Touch to get them back up.

My impression after taking a good look at the spells was pretty much out with the old and in with the new. Our spells and mechanics have changed and healing like we did in the past simply won’t work anymore. Healing is now a very interesting game – it keeps us on our toes as we evaluate damage and make our decisions about which spell to use, all while carefully watching mana and cooldowns. Not to say that healing in the past wasn’t interesting – oh no, it was great but it was also a whole different game. And now, the game and rules have changed yet again and  to heal well requires a very different style.

In my opinion, the Shattering is all about letting go of the past and approaching the new world with an open mind. It happened to our beloved zones and quests… and healing is no exception.

Leave a Reply

